Skip to content

St. Regis Mohawk School Flag Dedication

Written by on June 22, 2017 Filed in District, District Announcements, StRMS, StRMS Announcements

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On Friday, June 9, the St. Regis Mohawk School conducted a flag dedication ceremony for new American flags that were donated by the WoodmenLife Insurance Company, which has a long standing history of promoting patriotism. Since 1947, WoodmenLife has donated over 3 million flags to schools and other non-profit organizations, including the 65 American flags donated to the St. Regis Mohawk School. The donation provided enough flags for all classrooms and offices at the school.

Bill Plante began the ceremony with welcoming remarks, followed by the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance. Rick Reandeau, Brad Lucas, and The Honorable John T. Ellis, State Supreme Court Judge and former 82nd Airborne Commander, all representatives from WoodmenLife, presented their donation of flags to the school and shared comments about patriotism. Members of the American Legion Color Guard, Post #1479, performed the duty of lowering the old flag and raising the new one. Levi Oakes, Mohawk Code Talker and Congressional Medal of Honor recipient, was an honored guest at the ceremony. Mr. Oakes was presented with a flag for his home, along with praise and gratitude for his service to his country. Elyse Stefanick, State Congresswoman and member of the Armed Services Committee, regretfully was unable to attend the ceremony, but sent her best wishes. Justin Hahn performed “Taps” and the National Anthem during the service. A reception followed the ceremony, which was sponsored by the St. Regis Mohawk School PTO and the Tarbell Management Group.

Bill Plante and Ellen Cook, the organizers of the event, would like to expressly thank WoodmenLife; The American Legion Color Guard, Post #1479; Justin Hahn; Marlene McCarthy; Time Brown; Warren Potter; The St. Regis Mohawk School PTO; Bleyton Hopps-Thompson and Jianna Lazore, President and Vice-President of the Student Council, respectively; The Maintenance Department (Wayne Ashley, Brian White, Justin Smith, Ron Moreau, Angie Jock); the Tarbell Management Group; and Louis Levi Oakes and his family.


Tags: ,